Clayton Crawford Award

In Memory of a Friend Treasured by the MNRC

Clayton Crawford Award Recipients

  • 2023 – Beckey Malphus
  • 2022 – Annette Pacheco
  • 2021 – Laura Foster
  • 2019 – Michelle Love
  • 2018 – Annette Pacheco
  • 2017 – Jay Herrington, Dr. Robert McFarlane, &
    Shawn Severn
  • 2016 – Jeannie Greenlee, Weldon Spring MO
  • 2015 – Butch Driggers, Cooper Black
  • 2014 – Brad Henman. Corning CA
  • 2013 – The Staff of Flint Oak, Fall River Kansas 
  • 2013 – Todd Manuel
  • 2012 – Bill Mason
  • 2011 – Frank and Terri Durham
  • 2010 – Jay and Raelene Phelps
  • 2006 – The Meade Ranch Staff , Morgan Hills California
  • 2002 – Michael Allen O’Hearn
  • 2000 – Frank Prendergast and Russ Reavis and Theresa Kucan
  • 1999 – Sidney Sidwell

About Clayton Crawford

W. Clayton Crawford was a professional dog trainer who lived in Smyrna, Delaware with his wife Susan and their two sons Scott and Chad. Clayton was a dedicated trainer, handler, and a treasured friend to all who knew him.

He had an infectious smile and touched the lives of many people, always willing and able to give of his time and talent to help them improve as a handler or as a person.

When the Master National was but an idea, Clayton embraced it. He envisioned it as a terrific complement to the AKC Hunt Test Program giving people something more to strive for, that being the ability to showcase their dogs in front of the rest of the country.

Clayton did everything he possibly could to get it off the ground and make it a success. He loved the Master National.

Clayton died suddenly doing what he loved, being on line handling a dog at Swamp Dog Club’s hunt test at the “Brickyard” in Quakertown, Penn. on Nov.12, 1995.

At each year’s event the Master National Retriever Club Board of Directors votes as to the recipient of the Clayton Crawford Memorial Award. This award is given to honor and recognize the person or persons whose unconditional help and hard work made the current year’s event a success.

This award perpetuates the name of W. Clayton Crawford. An engraved plaque is presented to the recipient(s) at the Master National Closing Ceremony at the conclusion of the event.

Written by Frank Prendergast

Scroll to top